Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​​​Executive Committee

Chen Peng
Professor Chen Peng

Co-Executive Director

Prof Chen holds a PhD in Electrical Engineering with research focus on electrophysiology from University of Missouri. Before joining NTU at 2005, he did his post-doctoral training in Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology at Harvard University where he conducted research on nanopore based DNA sequencing and single-molecule sensing. Currently, he is a full professor and associate chair (faculty) in the School of Chemical & Biomedical Engineering. He has published >200 papers in reputable journals and is a global highly cited researcher. Working at the interface of biomedicine, nanomaterials, and engineering, Prof Chen’s research team focuses on developing novel biotechnologies to address unmet biomedical problems.

Yen Choo
Associate Professor Yen Choo
Co-Executive Director

Yen Choo is Associate Professor of Stem Cell Science and Regenerative Medicine, and Executive Director of the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, at the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, a joint medical school of Nanyang Technological University and Imperial College London. He holds a PhD in Molecular Biology from the University of Cambridge and the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology where he worked under Nobel laureate Sir Aaron Klug. A/Prof Choo is a serial entrepreneur with over 20 years of C-level and Board experience in the biotechnology industry, having founded companies focused on gene editing, regenerative medicine and drug discovery. His inventions and biotech companies have been recognised with academic and industry awards including The Queen’s Award for Enterprise in Innovation, The Scientist Top 10 Innovations, R&D100 and the GE Healthcare and Science Prize for Young Scientists.

Prof Maurice

Professor Maurice van Steensel
Co-Deputy Executive Director

Professor Maurice van Steensel is an internationally renowned expert in molecular dermatology with over two decades of clinical and research experience in the field. He obtained his M.D. from the University of Nijmegen in the Netherlands where he actively trained in clinical genetics research and molecular genetics. After he completed a Ph.D. in genetics and his dermatology training, he has held senior research and clinical positions in Maastricht, Singapore, and the United Kingdom. Professor van Steensel is currently a Professor at Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine and is the founding Research Director with the Skin Research Institute of Singapore. His present research, funded in a multimillion-dollar program, focuses on the identification of novel active compounds for treating common skin conditions. 

Yeong Wai Yee

Associate Professor Sierin Lim
Co-Deputy Executive Director

Sierin Lim is an Associate Professor of Bioengineering at the School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering and the Associate Dean (Global Partnerships), Graduate College. Her research group focuses on repurposing biological parts by utilizing protein engineering as a tool for applications in medicine, energy, cosmetics, and food. She earned her B.S. in Chemical Engineering and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering from University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) and did a postdoctoral training at University of California Irvine. She founded the Biomedical Engineering Society (Singapore) Student Chapter and Women@NTU Initiatives. She is the recipient of the L'Oréal-UNESCO Singapore for Women in Science National Fellowships (2013), Tan Chin Tuan Fellowship for Exchange in Engineering (2016), and Outstanding Woman in Biomedical Engineering Venus International Women Awards (2019).

Not sure which programme to go for? Use our programme finder
Loading header/footer ...